What’s Your Dog’s Love Language?

Dogs are known for their unwavering loyalty, companionship, and unconditional love towards their humans. And just like us, dogs also have their own preferences in the ways they express and receive love. Understanding your dog's love language can strengthen your bond and enhance your relationship. The concept of The Five Love Languages comes from the book written by Gary Chapman, and gives us an some guidance to how pets like to give and receive love too. So, what are the love languages? Let’s dive right in!

  1. Words of Affirmation

Dogs thrive on positive reinforcement and verbal praise. Tone of voice is most important here - a playful, warm and soft tone will let your doggo know that you love and are happy with them more than your words will. Take the time to speak kindly to your fur baby and reinforce good behaviour to make them feel loved and appreciated.

  1. Quality Time

For many dogs, quality time is the ultimate expression of love. Spending dedicated time with your pup, whether it's going for walks, playing fetch or tug, or just cuddling on the couch, is crucial for building a strong bond (daily couch cuddles are a non-negotiable for our Frenchies!). With our modern fast-paced lives, it can be difficult to find time to dedicate and be present with our pets in the daily routine (them following you around the house doesn’t count), but make sure to prioritize quality time with your doggo to show them how much you care.

  1. Acts of Service

Acts of service could be anything from grooming and feeding your dog, to taking them to the vet or giving them a nice belly rub. Pay attention to what your dog enjoys and make an effort to do the acts of service they love most. Dogs can show their love back to humans through acts of service such as coming to you when you call, or being protective of you by something they perceive as a threat (even if it’s just a noise outside from your neighbour coming home).

  1. Physical Touch

Physical touch is a powerful way your dog can show affection. Signs include resting their head on you, raising their paw for attention and staring deeply into your eyes. Many dogs enjoy being petted, hugged, or simply sitting close to their owners. Pay attention to your dog's body language when you give them pats and cuddles to understand their preferences when it comes to physical touch, and make sure to respect their boundaries – if the response from your dog is not an enthusiastic ‘yes’, it’s a ‘no’.

  1. Gifts

While dogs may not appreciate material gifts in the same way humans do, they can still enjoy receiving special treats, toys, or accessories. If your dog shares their toys with you, it means they trust you and they want to play. If they are highly play driven, a toy can be one of the best gifts to give them. Food motivated pups may enjoy training with treats, or enrichments toys filled with treats such as snuffle mats, treat mazes and slow feeders are great gifts that mentally stimulate your pup as well. But the best gift you can give your dog is your time and attention.

Now that you’ve read about the 5 love languages, can you think of which one is your pet’s favourite way to give and receive love? And which one is yours?  We hope this gives you some insight and ideas to strengthen your bond with your fur baby!


View all